Friday, February 5, 2021

Next stop for the 87th Avenue Bridge: the Miami-Dade TPO - who sits on this board?

The next meeting of the TPO is currently scheduled for Thursday, February 18. The agenda is not yet set, so there is no guarantee what issues will be placed on it. 

The TPO Governing Board meets once a month (on a Thursday), starting at 2 pm in the TPO Chambers located at 150 West Flagler Street, Suite 1900, Miami, FL 33130. CLICK HERE to view the County web page for the Miami-Dade TPO.

The Miami-Dade TPO Governing Board

The TPO Governing Board is comprised of:

  • 13 Miami-Dade County Board of County Commissioners
  • 8 elected officials; one from each of the eight municipalities with a population over 50,000
  • 4 appointed by the Governor, representing:
    • Miami-Dade County School Board
    • Municipality-at-Large (within Miami-Dade County)
    • A Non-Elected Official (residing in unincorporated Miami-Dade County)
    • Expressway Authority

The TPO Governing Board is composed of 24 voting members. The current members are:

Commission District 1 - Oliver G. Gilbert III, Chair
Commission District 2 - Jean Monestime
Commission District 3 - Keon Hardemon
Commission District 4 - Sally A. Heyman
Commission District 5 - Eileen Higgins
Commission District 6 - Rebeca Sosa
Commission District 7 - Raquel A. Regalado
Commission District 8 - Danielle Cohen Higgins
Commission District 9 - Kionne L. McGhee
Commission District 10 - Javier D. Souto
Commission District 11  - Joe A. Martinez
Commission District 12  - Jose “Pepe” Diaz
Commission District 13  - René Garcia
City of Coral Gables - Vince Lago
City of Doral - Juan Carlos Bermudez, Vice-Chair
City of Hialeah - Oscar De La Rosa
City of Homestead - Steven D. Losner
City of Miami - Francis Suarez
City of Miami Beach - Micky Steinberg
City of Miami Gardens - Rodney Harris
City of North Miami – Philippe Bien-Aime
Municipal Representative - Roberto Martell
Miami-Dade County School Board - Perla T. Hantman
Non-Elected Official - vacant
Expressway Authority - vacant

The TPO Governing Board is vested with the responsibility for exercising the powers of the TPO including the final decision on all policy matters, adoption or endorsement of transportation plans and programs, adoption of budgets, approval of agreements or contracts, adoption of rules, and establishing or changing its internal operating structure.

No comments:

Post a Comment