Please note, not all laws passed by the Florida Legislature take effect on the same date each year. For example, some take effect July 1 (start of a governmental fiscal year), October 1, or laws can provide that they take effect upon signing by the Governor (or becoming law based upon the action of the Governor)
Please read the article for full information, but here are some I took special note of and therefore, mention here:
· (HB 1011) that requires homeowners' insurance policies to make clear that they do not cover flood damage.
· Minimum-wage workers will start earning $8.46 an hour Tuesday, up from $8.25 an hour in 2018 — and more than a dollar above the $7.25 federal minimum wage.
· Businesses in Florida will begin to see lower workers' compensation insurance rates. Regulators approved an overall 13.8 percent decrease in workers' compensation rates for 2019, following a 9.5 average rate reduction in 2018.