Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Palmetto Bay runoff elections results. Palmetto Bay turns out both incumbents in 2012

Information now official CLICK HERE to view the unofficial results summary:

John Dubois has unseated Brian Pariser 2,091 to 2,063.

Tim Schaffer beats out Jim Araiza for District two: 2,170 to 1,953 

There was obviously an anti-incumbent mood for the voters in Palmetto Bay. Term limits?  2 incumbents failed to get reelected in 2012.  Another council member failed to get reelected in 2006.

Incumbents have fared 50/50 getting reelected in challenged races in Palmetto Bay.

2004: Vice Mayor Robinson won reelection without opposition.  Paul Neidhart won by a wide margin.
2006: I and Dr. Ed Feller easily won reelection.  John Breder (from memory) almost won, but narrowly missing avoiding a runoff by 7 votes, but lost by 57 in the runoff.
2010: No one up for reelection. Term limits led to Stanczyk running for mayor. Newcomers ran in districts one and three.
2012: A council divided. Both Howard Tendrich and Brian Pariser lose their seats on the council.

Congratulations to John DuBois and Tim Schaffer. Please, I ask that both of you do you part to stop the infighting.  Bring this council together and let's work for the "Ps" that I often espoused: This time, making council meetings "Pleasant" for all concerned: council, staff, speakers and the residents and business community. Each council member regardless of title, mayor vice mayor or one of the 3 council seats have the same one vote.  All can make or second motions or agenda resolutions and ordinances.  All council members can (and need to) stand up from the dais to shut down bullying.

Let's all work together to improve Palmetto Bay in 2013.

1 comment:

  1. Are these results official? I heard that there was going to be a recount.